Fuquay-Varina History


As our name implies, the town of Fuquay-Varina reflects the growth and evolution of two vibrant adjoining communities. 

Fuquay Springs first came into prominence in the mid-1800s as word spread about the recuperative powers of the mineral springs in the area.  Travelers from throughout the nation visited the community.  Commerce, tour companies and hospitality services soon followed.  Fuquay Springs became a formal entity in 1902 and became an incorporated community in 1909.  In 1963 Fuquay Springs annexed the small neighboring community of Varina.  From its origins as train stop, Varina grew to have its own post office and active downtown business district.  With the annexation came a name change to reflect the diverse history of the communities' citizens:  Fuquay-Varina.

To this day, our community enjoys the unique benefit of two downtown areas -- South Main Street in the Fuquay Springs Historic District and Broad Street in the Varina Historic District.  Each has its own vibe and special characteristics, complete with a full compliment of local homegrown businesses such as the Aviator Brewing Company's brewery, bar & restaurant complex, as well as a steady array of activities.

You can learn much more about the special history we enjoy in Fuquay-Varina, by visiting these websites.

Town of Fuquay-Varina Official Website

Museums of Fuquay-Varina

Fuquay-Varina Economic Development Commission


client login

Need to Register?

© Fuquay-Varina Business Resource Group. All Rights Reserved. | SitemapPowered by AgileSite Lite